Welcome to My Blog

Hello blogosphere. As you can see, I’m new here. And as the new kid, I feel the need to introduce myself and my blog.

My name is Lauren and I graduated from college in May of 2011. It’s hard to believe that I’ve been out of college for an entire year; to be honest I haven’t accomplished much. That’s where the title of my blog comes in. I’ve officially left the nest, but I haven’t gone far. Like most recent graduates I’m still relying on my parents to help me with finances and becoming a real person in general. I’m out of the nest but unable to fly, so for now I’m just hanging out on a branch.

Life on a branch can be incredibly frustrating. I was completely unemployed for six months after graduating. When I did get a job, it wasn’t some fancy career that I earned with my degree, but a minimum wage means of making income. A few months later I earned a pretty sweet internship that pays slightly better than minimum wage and is helping me build my resume. But at the age of 24 an actual job would be ideal.

Branch life isn’t all bad, and my intent of this blog isn’t to start a pity party with my fellow branchers. This is a time in our lives when we can grow and see what we’re really made of. We can discover what we want from life and learn how to integrate ourselves into the dreaded real world. We’re realizing that despite what our 5-year-old selves thought, people in their 20s have no idea what their doing. Some of us may not really figure out life until we’re 60, and that’s okay.

So why did I start this blog?

I intern as a blogger but don’t have my own personal blog, which is just plain crazy. I’ve been wanting to start a blog for a while but couldn’t think of a niche that I’d be really into blogging about. I’m still navigating through life and discovering passions, so for now I thought, why not just blog about life?

I want to blog about issues that are relevant to you guys and not just rants about myself. I’m not that exciting, so not always talking about myself shouldn’t be a problem. But I also want this to be a place where I can just write about whatever I want, however I want. As an English major I feel like I have a creative writing void in my life right now, and hopefully this blog can fill it. If I ever get too self-analytical or start telling random stories within this blog, I’m sorry. As a writer I just can’t help myself sometimes.

Posts in this blog may breach the following topics: Job-hunting, relationships, being completely broke, Wisconsin (my native land), Colorado (where I currently reside), feminism, my cat Miles, current events and whatever the hell I feel like writing about! I’m not looking to make any social discoveries or become the next great philosopher; I just want to talk about life using puns, self-depreciation, dumb humor and a healthy dose of sarcasm.

If anyone decides to read this blog, I’d also like for it to be a place where post grads can come together and share their disappointments, accomplishments, growth and, well, lives. Millennials get a bad rap, but we’re making due with the times we live in.

Thanks for stopping by. I look forward to sharing more about life on a branch!

6 thoughts on “Welcome to My Blog

  1. I don’t usually follow blogs but I’ll make an exception. I, too, am still a brancher for now, but I’m testing my wings and I’m almost ready to leave. I will continue to provide moral support and timely sympathy for other branchers though! We all have to start somewhere.

  2. Branchers take heart there are a lot of oppurtunities out there yet. Only difference is you have to seek them out instead of having them fall into your lap like it used to be. My generation went thru the same thing late 70’s early 80’s. Later in life you will appreciate what it took to suceed.

  3. That is the best analogy (I think that’s the correct literary term?) I’ve heard for the situation 20-somethings these days find ourselves in. Besides trying to fly we’re also trying to avoid falling off the branch and nosediving to the ground.

    And I’m always up for more Miles stories! =)

  4. Pingback: My one-year bloggerversary | Life on a Branch

Leave a Reply

